Please enter both an email address and a password.

Account login

Need to reset your password?  Enter the email address which you used to register on this site (or your membership/contact number) and we'll email you a link to reset it. You must complete the process within 2hrs of receiving the link.

We've sent you an email

An email has been sent to Simply follow the link provided in the email to reset your password. If you can't find the email please check your junk or spam folder and add to your address book.

Clinical Standards Committee

Chair: Miss S Howells

The Clinical Standards Committee's goal is the nationwide improvement of clinical outcomes in all of the dental specialties. This encompasses: 

  • Promoting clinical standards across all dental specialties.
  • Working through specialty working party chairmen and newsletters to promote audit activity at local level.
  • Representing the Faculty on the College's Clinical Standards Committee.
  • Cooperating with the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) which produces an annual work plan for clinical effectiveness activities.
  • Publishing clinical guidelines and audit methodologies.

Clinical guidelines

Clinical guidelines are statements intended to assist clinicians in making decisions about appropriate management of specific conditions. They are designed to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of clinical care through the identification of both good clinical practice and desired clinical outcomes.

The guidelines make recommendations on how to deal with many common clinical situations. However, in many areas of practice there is a shortage of reliable research data. While some recommendations are supported by robust data, others are made with a lesser degree of confidence and may represent only 'best current practice'.

View currently available clinical guidelines. The committee intends to make all clinical guidelines available on this website.

Related Documents

Chair Miss S Howells
Vice-Chair Ms P Shirlaw, Senior Vice-Dean
Ex Officio Mr M Garret, Dean of the Faculty
Professor M Cobourne, Junior Vice-Dean

Mrs V Brookes
Mr H Emam
Mr P Magennis
Professor J Gallagher


Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery: Mr P Praveen
Orthodontics: Miss Karen Juggins
Restorative Dentistry: Dr U Darbar
BSRD: Vacant
Paediatric Dentistry: Prof P Ashley
Dental Public Health: Dr J Murphy
Oral Medicine: Dr R McMillan
Community Dentistry: Vacant
Oral Surgery: Dr R Leeson
Endodontics: Dr A Qualtrough
Periodontics: Vacant
Prosthodontics: Mr P Taylor
Oral & Maxillofacial Pathology: Professor K Piper
Dental & Maxillofacial Radiology: Dr S Ng


Invited Members

Chief Dental Officer's representative
Mr Y Maidment, FGDP Representative

Ms L Lovatt, Policy and Public Affairs Advisor

Meeting Dates

2 December 2020

5 May 2021


Share this page: