Please enter both an email address and a password.

Welcome to the RCS website. If you do not know your login details, please reset your password using the link below.

Account login

Need to reset your password?  Enter the email address which you used to register on this site (or your membership/contact number) and we'll email you a link to reset it. You must complete the process within 2hrs of receiving the link.

We've sent you an email

An email has been sent to Simply follow the link provided in the email to reset your password. If you can't find the email please check your junk or spam folder and add to your address book.

FDS Board

Governance of the Faculty of Dental Surgery of the Royal College of Surgeons of England

The governing body of the Faculty is its board made up of twenty-seven trustees, eighteen of whom are elected by fellows and members of the Faculty.

The College Vice-President is an ex-officio member of the board.

There are also invited members of the Board representing the Faculty of General Dental Practice (UK), the staff and associate specialists grades, the training grades, Dental Public Health, Northern Ireland, and the Committee of Postgraduate Dental Deans (COPDEND). A member of the College’s Patient and Lay Group (PLG) also sits on board to represent the views of patients.

The board meets four times per year and all meetings are chaired by the Dean.

The board delegates the coordination of a number of its main functions to various committees and working groups. The activities of these committees are reported to board on a regular basis.


 Professor Michael Escudier Professor Michael Escudier
Oral Medicine


  Professor Stephen Porter
Senior Vice-Dean
Oral Medicine
  Dr Selina Master
Junior Vice-Dean
Special Care Dentistry       

Elected Members

  Professor Tara Renton
Oral Surgery
  Dr Judith Jones
Oral Surgery
  Mr Stephen Fayle
Paediatric Dentistry
  Dr Stephen Chadwick
  Mr Simon Littlewood
  Dr Jane Luker
Dental and Maxillofacial Radiology
  Mr Jay Kindelan
  Ms Pepe Shirlaw
Oral Medicine
  Mrs Vanita Brookes
Special Care Dentistry
  Mr Matthew Garrett
Restorative Dentistry
 martyn cobourne

Professor Martyn Cobourne

  Miss Sarah Howells
Oral Surgery

Professor Andrew Eder
Restorative Dentistry


Professor Helen Rodd
Paediatric Dentistry


Mr Jimmy Makdissi
Dental and Maxillofacial Radiology


Invited Members

  Mr Ian Mills
Dean, Faculty of General Dental Practice (UK)

  Ms Arti Hindocha
Training Grades representative

  Mr Simon Utting
Advisory Committee for Community Dentistry Representative

  Professor Jennifer Gallagher
Dental Public Health Representative
Northern Ireland Representative
  Dr Hesham Emam
Staff and Associate Specialist Grades Representative
  Mr Nicholas Taylor
Committee of the Postgraduate Dental Deans Representative
Patients' Liaison Group Representative


  Mr Ian Eardley
Vice-President, the Royal College of Surgeons of England

Share this page: