Please enter both an email address and a password.

Account login

Need to reset your password?  Enter the email address which you used to register on this site (or your membership/contact number) and we'll email you a link to reset it. You must complete the process within 2hrs of receiving the link.

We've sent you an email

An email has been sent to Simply follow the link provided in the email to reset your password. If you can't find the email please check your junk or spam folder and add to your address book.

Medical Student Prizes

Prizes are useful additions to your CV, demonstrating both a commitment to a surgical career and achievement of excellence. Winning is not necessary for inclusion – being short-listed or getting any kind of placing will still be a CV boost. 

The Annual Professor Harold Ellis Medical Student Prize For Surgery

This prestigious national award is open to all UK medical students and the winner receives a prize of £500. The surgical society at the universities of the three prize winners will also receive £100 each. We are not currently accepting entries for this prize.

The 2015 guidance and regulations are available for information. Please send any queries to

The topic for the 2015 essay competition was: 'Is public health a surgical concern? The role of the surgeon in promoting healthy lifestyles'. Short-listed candidates were invited to give a five minute presentation on "The Role of Social Media for Modern Surgeons".

2016 winners

  1. Owen Davis of University of Keele - Owen's presentation
  2. Molly Nielsen of University of Newcastle - Molly's presentation
  3. Richard Bartlett of University College London - Richard's presentation

2015 winners

  1. Jacob King of Peninsula - Jacob's presentation
  2. Michael Bath of Leicester - Michael's presentation
  3. John Eraifej of Birmingham - John's presentation

2014 winners

  1. Elizabeth Redman of UCL - Elizabeth's presentation
  2. Wei Cheang of Dundee University - Wei's presentation (joint)
  3. James Baggott of Kings College London - James' presentation (joint)

Read a report of the 2014 prize day written by the joint second prize winners.

2013 winners

  1. David Ferguson of University of Leicester
  2. Ibrahim Sheriff of Kings College London
  3. James Glasbey of Cardiff University 

2012 winners

  1. Maral Rouhani of Cambridge University - Presentation | Notes
  2. Mueez Waqar of Liverpool University - Presentation | Notes
  3. Emma Keohane of Barts and the London - Emma's presentation | Notes (joint)
  4. Jason Yuen of Oxford University - Presentation | Notes (joint)

Other prizes

Many medical schools and surgical societies also run competitions for students. If you run a prize for students and you would like us to include it in this list please email us

Share this page: